Timothy Murphy

Bass Baritone

Choirland – The National Chamber Choir or Ireland


By clicking ‘buy now’ you will be redirected to the website of The Contemporary Music Centre.



  1. Gerald Barry (b.1952) – Long time (2011)
  2. Enda Bates (b.1979) – Pauper’s Lament (2010)
  3. Seóirse Bodley (b.1933) – I will walk with my love (1981)
  4. Brian Boydell (1917–2000) – Come Sleep (1964)
  5. Rhona Clarke (b.1958) – Regina Coeli (from Two Marian Anthems) (2007)
  6. Frank Corcoran (b.1944) – Caoine (1975)
  7. Séamas De Barra (b.1955) – Ave Maria (1985)
  8. David Fennessy (b.1976) – chOirland (2002)
  9. Aloys Fleischmann (1910–1922) – Na Trí Captaení Loinge (1956)
  10. Ben Hanlon (b.1952) – Molaimis go léir an tAon-Mhac Críost (2008)
  11. Colin Mawby (b.1936) – Alleluia, Christus Resurrexit (1986)
  12. Fiontán Ó Cearbhaill (1922–1981) – Suantraí ár Slánaitheora (1979)
  13. Éamonn Ó Gallchobhair (1900–1982) – An Teitheadh go hÉigipt (1975)
  14. Eric Sweeney (b.1948) – There is no rose (1981)
  15. Gerard Victory (1921–1995) – Sliabh Geal gCua (1982)

Choirland is a collection of 15 pieces by Irish composers for unaccompanied mixed choir. The music ranges in difficulty from the simple to perform, to the more challenging. From arrangements of traditional melodies, new settings of familiar texts and strikingly original works, the selection encompasses a wide array of styles, which illustrate the diversity and vibrancy of Irish choral music. Each piece is presented with performance notes designed to aid conductors and singers alike, and the book includes a CD recording of the music by the National Chamber Choir of Ireland conducted by its Artistic Director Paul Hillier.

For more information, please click here.